Goodbye 2011, Hello 2012

I have said it before and I’ll say it again; I cant believe how quickly 2011 flew by. It seems like just yesterday that I was getting into the habit of writing 2011 instead of 2010 and now I have to wrap my head around writing 2012! However, I am SO excited for what 2012 has in store for me because I’ve got a feeling (great, now I’ve got ‘I Gotta Feeling’ by The Black Eyed Peas in my head!) that this is going to be a great year. 

Now, before I continue I just want to say that I know a couple of my fellow Marketing Forum peeps are in the process of writing about what they’re looking forward to in 2012 and I’m looking really forward to reading their posts. However, I don’t think you can ever have too many perspectives, which is why I have written my own post about it.

As you probably know, I’m a member of the Curve Young Company Marketing Forum and what we’re really gearing up for is the Curve Young Company show. Although it’s still in its development stage at the moment, if last year’s show is anything to go by, it’s going to be fantabulous (a mixture of fantastic and fabulous – I really couldn’t make up my mind as to which word out of the two to use). 

One of the reasons why the Curve Young Company is so good is because it gives young people the opportunity to participate in areas of theatre that they might not have got a chance to experience otherwise. Plus, it gives young people a chance to put their skills to good use and to be productive, which is something everyone – regardless of their age/background/whatever – should encourage. 

Anyway, back to the topic of the Curve Young Company show. It’s going to be an exciting time for me and the other members of the Marketing Forum because we’re going to have the chance to gain an insight into, and be a part of, an actual marketing campaign. Seriously, I am so excited about this because I live, eat and breathe marketing communications. In fact, Marketing Communications was my absolute favourite module last year whilst I was in my second year at De Montfort University, so you can see why I’m looking forward to working with Curve’s Communications Team. This is going to be a great opportunity to see how the things I have learnt at university translate, if at all, into an actually working environment.

I shall keep you posted, don’t worry!

Apart from the Curve Young Company show, another Curve production is ‘Gypsy’. I know what you’re probably thinking; it’s going to be about someone that lives in a caravan, a la ‘My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding’. However, I’m pleased to tell you that you’re completely wrong.

‘Gypsy’ is actually about a woman named Mama Rose and her determination to live out her own dreams of stardom through her two daughters. Originally performed on Broadway in 1959, this production of Gypsy at Curve (which will be running from 10th March – 15th April 2012) is the first in the UK for a number of years. Directed by Curve’s artistic director Paul Kerryson and staring Caroline O’Connor as Mama Rose, this is definitely a must-see. To get you in the mood, check out the following YouTube clip;

Amazing, right?!

An important event for me in 2012 is my graduation, which will be taking place at Curve instead of De Montfort Hall (where it has been held for 20+ years). After the initial fall out between the big-wigs at De Montfort University and some of the student body, I think many students are starting to realise that the change in venue might be a good thing. I personally think the change makes sense, but that’s because I was flexible in my initial opinion and I was open to what our Vice Chancellor (and the rest of the Executive Board) had to say about it all.

It will be interesting to see just how different the ceremonies at Curve will be because, having attended a few graduation ceremonies at De Montfort Hall, they weren’t really inclusive of students or student-orientated. It is my understanding that our Vice Chancellor wants to change this and he wants to increase student presence on campus during the graduation ceremonies. There are a number of good ideas on the table and I think a number of restaurants and bars will be getting involved as well by providing discounts on meals, drinks, etc. It’s going to be like the whole of Leicester is celebrating our graduation with us (too cheesy? I thought so!). 

In addition to everything I’ve already mentioned, 2012 also brings with it the Olympic and Paralympic Games in London. I remember there being a real buzz around Stratford City when I was there a couple of weeks ago visiting my family. It’s going to be so good to see London, my home city, taking centre stage at an international level. For those of you unable to make it to London for the games, I came across this really cool site which highlights what’s going on in Leicester and Leicestershire. To go to the site, just click HERE.

If all that wasn’t enough, another important event taking place in London in 2012 is The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. This event marks 60 years of The Queen’s reign and the celebrations for this momentous occasion will centre around an extended weekend on 2nd – 5th June, 2012. Now, let me show off a bit; The Queen came to the throne on 6th February 1952 and her coronation took place on 2nd June 1953. The only other British monarch to celebrate their Diamond Jubilee was Queen Victoria, and that was in 1897.

Ok, I think I have taken up enough of your time. I hope you found this post interesting, I did try to keep it varied, but I can only write about what I know.

Until the next time, folks!

Priya 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

