Goodbye 42nd Street

On Thursday, after the Young Marketing Forum meeting, I was fortunate enough to see ‘42nd Street’. Seriously, I had high expectations anyway because Curve’s Artistic Director Paul Kerryson never fails to impress, but this show far exceeded my expectations. Honestly, I was toe tapping all the way home and I couldn’t fall asleep that night because I had the song ‘We’re in the Money’ stuck in my mind (not that I’m complaining because I love that song!). The dancing was amazing, the vocals were flawless and it was such a great show, I am SO glad that I managed to see it before its run in Leicester comes to an end.

Anyway, let me pause in my love-fest about the show and tell you what ‘42nd Street’ is all about. It’s the story of a small-town American girl called Peggy Sawyer (or ‘Allentown’ as she is frequently called throughout the show because that’s where she comes from) and her journey from chorus girl to fully-fledged Broadway star. A show originally conceptualised to cheer people up during tough economic times; it is packed with dazzling show-stopping numbers and impressive dance routines, plus a score including a song that I am sure everyone knows called ‘We’re in the Money’. Purely for my own amusement, here is a YouTube-clip of the song from the original 1980 Broadway production;

Speaking of the original production, the 1980 Broadway show won the Tony Award for Best Musical and went on to become a long-running hit. When the show was produced in London, it went on to win an Oliver Award for Best Musical. The 2001 Broadway revival won the Tony Award for Best Revival.  Impressive, right?!

Drawing your attention back to Curve’s production of the show, I loved the fact that it went straight into the story without beating about the bush. I also liked how the 14-piece on-stage orchestra were used to draw the audience in and the way it was interwoven throughout the show, it was flawless. Paul Kerryson used the stage in such an imaginative way and I especially liked how the backdrop was used to recreate the feel of the Great Depression. As I previously mentioned, the dancing was incredible and I am sure that the vocals were some of the best that I have heard at Curve. In addition, the talented cast were fantastic, particularly Ria Jones as Dorothy, Geraldine Fitzgerald (that is my all-time favourite surname!) as Maggie and Tim Flavin gave an extremely strong performance as Julian Marsh.

Before I stop taking up your time ranting about my love of Curve and 42nd Street, I need to tell you that the tickets for Curve Young Company’s spring show are going to go on sale very soon, so please make sure you book your tickets in advance to avoid disappointment. Last year’s show completely sold out, so don’t leave it too late to get your tickets for this year’s show. Keep your eyes on Curve’s website to find out exactly when and how you can book tickets.

Go on, support young people doing productive things!!

Priya

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

