YAE – How We Are Getting On

I am sat here thinking ‘All right, what’s the best way to sum up the past few weeks and moments that have passed without doing them any injustice?’ and frankly I don’t think it’s possible. However, I’m going to try and cut down on the injustice in my attempt to update you.

The journey so far has been fantastic, thought-provoking, enlightening and fun among so much more. From the word go we have been working with talented artists who have been an inspiration, great examples to learn from and a form of support throughout. Citizen598 in particular have been exceptional in their support and advice even outside the training sessions that we had at Curve. The different personalities that we are as the YAE seem to have blended in well. This was quite apparent when we spent the day with weapons of sound who led us through a process of creating 2 pieces of performances in a few hours. Personally, I thought it was absolutely incredible on their part and on ours as a group. We also met and spent time with Phil Mackenzie who has been in theatre for over 30 years and has what I would call a stash of wisdom that only experience can grant a person.

All the different ideas are starting to bud off and we had opportunities to show each other what exactly we’re going to be doing. Single-mindedness and open-mindedness are interesting things to have at the same time but the past few weeks have helped me to be better able to stand firm on my desired ground but also be willing to learn from others. This has been a learning process where we have taken on challenges in almost every session and watched each other grow in the process. Through all this there was always more than enough positivity resonating from the remarkable Tim Ford…who each time makes me wonder where he constantly refills…a question I should definitely think about asking him. He’s a talented artist who will do what he can to bring out the best out of everyone under his wing.

Every YAE session has had something different and new. It’s been a great atmosphere to come to and just so you guys don’t get a biased opinion I have asked the other YAE’s how they are finding the project and this is what they said;

‘YAE has given me a lot of knowledge and confidence in being able to go into the arts industry and do what I want to do. Also the YAE group have been so supportive of each other, every time I’ve had a bad day I’d have forgotten about my worries after a YAE session.’ – Kulvir

‘Curve YAE has been an amazing experience, I’ve learnt so much and I’m so grateful for the support. It’s been a fantastic opportunity that has allowed me to develop my skills on a number of levels. I always knew I wanted to make theatre and I always knew I wanted my own business. Curve YAE has enabled me to see how both passions can work together :D.’ – Aminata

‘I’ve really learnt so much in a short space of time and met brilliant people who are really passionate about the arts :)’ – Bethany

I am clearly not on my own in thinking we are privileged to be a part of the project and have gained so much in a matter of weeks. I am excited to see what the future holds for us all. Thank you for taking time to read and please do keep watching this space for more updates.

Vicky (Curve YMF and YAE)

Leave a Reply

